Temi vs. LifeMD: what the monthly fee covers

Medically reviewed by Kevin Brandstetter, M.D.Last reviewed September 28, 2026

LifeMD charges a weight-management program fee of $39 for the first month and $149 a month after, and states that "Medication cost is not included" [2]. Its LifeMD+ primary-care plan is $19 a month [3]. Temi has no required membership: $15 per refill, and compounded GLP-1 orders priced per vial [1] [5].

The core difference

LifeMD is a subscription practice. Temi is priced per order. That runs through both sides of the comparison.

For weight loss, LifeMD's program is $39 for the first month and "$149 a month thereafter with the flexibility to cancel anytime" [2]. The fee buys "expert clinician consultations, personalized prescriptions, dedicated coaching, and essential lab work" if you have not had the tests in the last 12 months — but not the drug. Brand-name GLP-1s are billed on top, from $149 for the Wegovy pill, $199 for the Wegovy pen and $299 for a Zepbound vial without insurance [2]. For everyday care, LifeMD+ is $19 a month, with $50 video visits and $20 message consults [3].

Temi's compounded GLP-1 order is the vial price plus a $39 prescription service, with nothing recurring to cancel [5] [4]. A maintenance refill is $15 [1]. An optional $449-a-year plan folds both fees in [6]. If your insurance covers a brand-name GLP-1, LifeMD's copay route will usually cost less. If you are paying cash, Temi removes the monthly fee.

Side by side

Temi and the other provider compared feature by feature
FeatureTemiCompetitor
Membership to get GLP-1 careNot required; pay per order [4]Yes — $39 first month, then $149 a month [2]
What the recurring fee coversOptional $449 a year: $0 refills and the $39 service on eligible compounded orders [6]Consultations, prescriptions, coaching, labs if not done in 12 months [2]
Medication in the feeNo — medication priced separately [5]No — "Medication cost is not included" [2]
GLP-1 typeCompounded semaglutide and tirzepatide (not FDA-approved), or Wegovy, Zepbound and Foundayo at manufacturer self-pay prices [11]Brand-name Wegovy pill and pen, Zepbound vial, with insurance where covered [2]
InsuranceNot billed; usable on refill medication at your pharmacy [4]Most major PPO plans; copays "as low as $25" on branded GLP-1s [7] [2]
Routine refills$15, no appointment, reviewed within 48 hours [1]Same-day refills on the $19-a-month LifeMD+ plan [3]
Live visitsNone — asynchronous review [1]Video visits "available within an hour", $50 cash [3]
Lab testingNot part of the refill service [1]Included in weight program if due; routine and specialty labs on LifeMD+ [2] [3]
States10 states, with a waitlist [8]"50-state" telehealth company [7]
Controlled substancesNot prescribed [1]"No controlled substances" [3]

Pricing side by side

What each medication costs at Temi and at the other provider
MedicationTemiCompetitor
Program or membership feeNone required; $449 a year optional [6]$39 first month, then $149 a month (weight); $19 a month (LifeMD+) [2] [3]
Compounded semaglutide (not FDA-approved)From $59.99 per 7.5 mg vial, plus $39 prescription service [5]No compounded price published [2]
Compounded tirzepatide (not FDA-approved)From $104.99 per 8.5 mg vial, plus $39 prescription service [9]No compounded price published [2]
Brand-name GLP-1 without insurancePrescribed, then filled by LillyDirect or NovoCare at their self-pay price — e.g. Foundayo $149 for a 30-day supply [11] [12]Wegovy pill from $149, Wegovy pen from $199, Zepbound vial from $299, plus program fee [2]
Refill of a maintenance medication$15, or $0 on Temi Care [1]Same-day refills with LifeMD+ at $19 a month (refill fee not stated); $20 message or $50 video consult for new issues [3]

Where the other provider offers more

LifeMD is the better fit if you have insurance or want an ongoing doctor relationship. It works with most major PPO plans, including UnitedHealthcare, Aetna, Cigna, Anthem and Humana, and advertises branded-GLP-1 copays as low as $25 where coverage is approved [7] [2]. Both services can prescribe Wegovy and Zepbound, but only LifeMD will run them through your insurance; Temi prescribes brands at the manufacturers' self-pay prices and does no prior authorizations [2] [11]. LifeMD's program fee bundles coaching and lab work that would otherwise cost extra [2]. And it is a full practice, not just a prescriber: LifeMD+ adds video visits within an hour, message consults answered within four hours, and lab ordering, for $19 a month [3]. It operates in all 50 states, where Temi serves 10 today [7] [8]. If a new symptom may come up alongside the refill, that breadth matters.

Frequently asked questions

How much does LifeMD cost per month?

It depends on the program. The weight-management program is $39 for the first month and $149 a month after that, not including medication [2]. The LifeMD+ primary and urgent care membership is $19 a month, with video visits at $50 cash and message consults at $20 [3]. Temi charges no monthly fee unless you choose its $449-a-year plan [6].

Does LifeMD take insurance?

Yes, for eligible services. LifeMD says it "partners with most major PPO insurance plans" [7], and on LifeMD+ a video visit costs "the cost of your co-pay if you use your insurance" [3]. Its weight page advertises branded GLP-1 copays as low as $25 when coverage is approved [2]. Temi does not bill insurance, though your plan still applies to refill medication at the pharmacy [4].

Is LifeMD legit?

LifeMD describes itself as a "50-state direct-to-patient telehealth company" and works with major PPO insurers [7]. On Trustpilot it held a 3.9 TrustScore from 4,265 reviews when we checked [10]. It is a real practice with licensed clinicians. Because the $149 program fee recurs until you stop it, read the cancellation terms before signing up, and keep a note of your renewal date.

Does the LifeMD fee include my GLP-1 medication?

No. LifeMD's weight page states "Medication cost is not included" [2]. Without insurance, the Wegovy pen starts at $199 and a Zepbound vial at $299, on top of the $149 monthly program fee [2]. At Temi the equivalent line is a compounded vial price plus a $39 prescription service, with no monthly fee [5].

Can LifeMD refill my regular prescriptions?

Yes. LifeMD+ lists "On-demand prescriptions and refills" with same-day service as part of the $19-a-month plan [3]. The refill fee on top of that is not stated on the page we checked. Temi refills non-controlled maintenance medications for $15 each without a subscription [1]. For one refill a quarter, LifeMD+ is $57 in membership alone against Temi's $15.

Can I cancel LifeMD anytime?

LifeMD says so on both plans: "cancel anytime" on the weight program and "No commitment. Cancel anytime." on LifeMD+ [2] [3]. Temi has no subscription to cancel for a single order — its new-prescription page puts it as "Nothing renews, nothing to cancel" [4].

Does LifeMD prescribe compounded semaglutide?

Its weight-management page lists brand-name products — Wegovy pill, Wegovy pen and Zepbound vial — and publishes no compounded price [2]. Temi prescribes compounded semaglutide from $59.99 per 7.5 mg vial and compounded tirzepatide from $104.99 per 8.5 mg vial, each plus $39 [5] [9]. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved.

What is a cheaper LifeMD alternative without insurance?

Without coverage, the program fee is the cost that adds up: $149 every month before medication [2]. Temi's model drops it — a compounded GLP-1 order is the vial plus a $39 service, and a maintenance refill is $15 [5] [1]. What you give up is coaching, bundled labs and live visits. Temi's GLP-1 cost calculator shows the per-month arithmetic for your dose.

Get started

Start online, and a licensed physician reviews your request

A short online questionnaire is the first step. No appointments and no insurance needed.

A licensed physician reviews every request. Nothing on this page is a prescription.