Temi vs Doctor On Demand: one flat $15 fee, with or without insurance
Looking for a Doctor On Demand alternative? Temi reviews a refill of one non-controlled medication for $15, the same with or without insurance and shown before you pay. There is no video visit, it is one charge from Temi per request, and nothing is billed to your insurance. You pay your pharmacy for the medication.
- $15 per medication
- 24/7 support by phone or text
- Temi Satisfaction Guarantee
What you pay Temi, and when you know it
One flat fee, with or without insurance. You see $15 per medication on this page before you create an account, and each request is one charge from Temi.
- One flat $15 fee per medication, the same with or without insurance
- Shown on this page, before you create an account or pay
- One charge from Temi per request
- Never billed to insurance, so no bill from Temi arrives later
- No scheduled visit, so no missed-appointment fee
- You pay your pharmacy for the medication, and you can use insurance or a discount card there
What you pay Doctor On Demand, in their words
Their How it works page says: “Doctor On Demand is not a membership. You will always see your cost upfront before you take your visit and won’t receive a surprise bill after your visit.”
- $99 for a 15-minute urgent care video visit without insurance, per their site
- With insurance or employer coverage: “Your telehealth visit may be as low as $0”. With insurance, their site says: “Your estimated cost might change as we learn more details about your coverage, such as your specific benefits, or whether you’ve met your deductible. Register or log in to see your actual cost.” Both sentences are on their cost and insurance page.
- If you extend a visit past 15 minutes, their site says: “If you decide to extend the visit, you will be billed for an additional visit at the same rate.”
- A missed scheduled appointment: “a missed appointment fee equal to all or a portion of the fees you and your insurer or other payor would have paid for the scheduled services if you do not cancel a scheduled appointment at least 24 hours in advance”, per their terms
TL;DR: Temi vs Doctor On Demand quick verdict
- What you pay
- $15 per medication
- With insurance
- The same fee. Never billed to insurance
- When you know the price
- Before you create an account
- Charges per request
- One, from Temi
- Visit
- None. You submit a request
One flat fee, the same with or without insurance, shown before you pay, and one charge from Temi per request.
- Without insurance
- $99 per 15-minute urgent care visit, per their site
- With insurance or employer coverage
- “Your telehealth visit may be as low as $0”
- Membership
- None, per their site
- Missed scheduled appointment
- All or a portion of the visit fee, per their terms
- Urgent care visits
- On demand at any hour, per their site
With insurance, their site says: “Your estimated cost might change as we learn more details about your coverage, such as your specific benefits, or whether you’ve met your deductible. Register or log in to see your actual cost.”
About Temi
Temi reviews a medication you already take and sends the prescription to the pharmacy you name. There is no video visit to join: you submit a request and a licensed physician reviews it within 48 hours, often sooner.
- $15 per medication, the same with or without insurance, never billed to insurance
- Reviewed and decided by Kevin Brandstetter, M.D. or another physician licensed in the state you are in
- A person answers 24/7 by phone or text: (855) 554-3030
About Doctor On Demand
Doctor On Demand offers live video visits for urgent care, therapy, and psychiatry, with virtual primary care for members covered by select health plans and employers, per their site. Their site also says: “Doctor On Demand is now part of Included Health.”
- “This is not a subscription or membership program.” You pay by the visit, per their site
- “You do not need an appointment for everyday and urgent care visits!” Therapy and psychiatry visits are booked ahead, per their site
- “Our licensed healthcare providers can write prescriptions for a variety of conditions but do require a video consultation.”
- “Doctor On Demand is a covered benefit for over 98 million Americans by their health plan or employer.”
- “Yes, we are available across the entire United States.”
Feature comparison: Temi vs Doctor On Demand
Price without insurance
- Temi
- $15 per medication, shown before you pay
- Doctor On Demand
- $99 per 15-minute urgent care visit, per their site
Price with insurance
- Temi
- The same $15. Temi never bills insurance
- Doctor On Demand
- As low as $0; the estimate can change with your coverage, per their site
When you see your price
- Temi
- On this page, before you create an account
- Doctor On Demand
- Without insurance, published; with insurance, after you register, per their site
Membership
- Temi
- None needed. Temi Care is optional
- Doctor On Demand
- None, per their site
Visit
- Temi
- None. You submit a request
- Doctor On Demand
- A live video visit, on demand or scheduled, per their site
Missed scheduled appointment
- Temi
- No fee. There is no appointment
- Doctor On Demand
- All or a portion of the visit fee unless cancelled 24 hours ahead, per their terms
Longer visit
- Temi
- No visit to extend
- Doctor On Demand
- A second visit fee if you extend past 15 minutes, per their site
Insurance billed
- Temi
- Never
- Doctor On Demand
- Yes, for covered members, per their site
Pharmacy
- Temi
- Your choice
- Doctor On Demand
- Your preferred pharmacy, per their site
Who reviews
- Temi
- A physician licensed in the state you are in
- Doctor On Demand
- Board-certified doctors and nurse practitioners, per their site
Support
- Temi
- 24/7 by phone or text
- Doctor On Demand
- Phone, email, and in-app messaging; hours not stated on their site
Refund terms
- Temi
- Temi Satisfaction Guarantee
- Doctor On Demand
- Not stated on their site
New prescriptions
- Temi
- Yes, through the $79 New Prescription service
- Doctor On Demand
- Yes, per their site
Urgent care, therapy, and psychiatry
- Temi
- No. Prescriptions only, no exam
- Doctor On Demand
- Yes, per their site
Children
- Temi
- No. Adults only
- Doctor On Demand
- Yes, on a parent's account, per their site
Controlled substances
- Temi
- None, non-controlled only
- Doctor On Demand
- Not prescribed, per their site
States served
- Temi
- 13 states
- Doctor On Demand
- The entire United States, per their site
Doctor On Demand figures are from doctorondemand.com and the Included Health terms, read October 3, 2026. Doctor On Demand is their name, not ours.
Who should use Temi?
- You want one flat $15 fee, the same with or without insurance
- You want to know the price before you create an account
- You want one charge per request, with nothing billed to your insurance
- You would rather submit a request than join a video visit
- You want the prescription sent to the pharmacy you choose
Who should use Doctor On Demand?
- Your health plan or employer covers Doctor On Demand. A covered visit can be $0, per their site.
- You want to talk with a clinician by live video, on demand at any hour.
- You have a new symptom that needs urgent care, such as a sinus infection or a UTI.
- You want therapy or psychiatry.
- You need a visit for a child under 18, on a parent's account.
- You need care in any state. Their site says they are available across the entire United States.
Pricing comparison: Temi vs Doctor On Demand
Temi
$15 per medication
One charge from Temi per request, for one physician review of one medication. The same with or without insurance.
$79 per new prescription
A medication you have not taken before, reviewed the same way.
$449 per year for Temi Care, optional
Unlimited $0 renewals for eligible non-controlled medications and no New Prescription service fee.
Your pharmacy bills you for the medication, and you can use insurance or a discount card there. New prescriptions go through the New Prescription service.
Doctor On Demand
$99 per 15-minute urgent care video visit without insurance, per their site
“For people without medical insurance, the price for a medical visit is $99 for a 15 minute consultation.”
As low as $0 per visit with insurance or employer coverage, per their site
“If paying with your insurance/employer benefits, the cost will vary depending on your benefits, and in many cases will be $0.”
An additional visit fee if you extend a visit past 15 minutes, per their site
“If you decide to extend the visit, you will be billed for an additional visit at the same rate.”
A missed appointment fee for a scheduled appointment not cancelled 24 hours ahead, per their terms
Their terms describe it as “all or a portion of the fees you and your insurer or other payor would have paid for the scheduled services”. The amount is not stated on their site.
With insurance, their site says: “Your estimated cost might change as we learn more details about your coverage, such as your specific benefits, or whether you’ve met your deductible. Register or log in to see your actual cost.” Read October 3, 2026 on their cost and insurance page.
What Doctor On Demand reviewers report
BBB
A+ BBB rating for Included Health, Inc. Included Health, Inc. is not BBB Accredited. BBB customer reviews: “1.03/5 stars”, “Average of 35 Customer Reviews”.
“250 total complaints in the last 3 years.”
Read October 3, 2026: Included Health, Inc. on BBB.
Doctor On Demand's Trustpilot score is 1.3 from 496 reviews: of the 80 most recent, 4 are five-star and 76 are three stars or under, and 20 of the 76 report a charge they did not expect.
The 80 most recent English reviews
Five stars4 of 80
Three stars or under76 of 80
The 76 reviews at three stars or under
Charged for a visit they missed, were late to, could not join, or cancelled12 of 76
A bill or collection notice after their insurance cost was shown as zero or lower5 of 76
Overcharged, charged twice, or charged for a visit they did not know was booked5 of 76
A long wait, or the clinician was late, did not join, or ended the visit14 of 76
The 4 five-star reviews
Praised the clinician3 of 4
Easy or convenient2 of 4
Counted from the text of each Trustpilot review, read October 3, 2026. One review can carry several themes: the three charge themes cover 20 distinct reviews.
Five Trustpilot reviews, copied word for word, beside Doctor On Demand's Trustpilot score of 1.3 from 496 reviews: two from the five-star reviews and three from the reviews at three stars or under.
“Scheduling my urgent care appointment was easy. I met with the provider who took the time to learn more about how I was feeling and my symptoms before prescribing medication.”
“Quick and easy to make an appointment”
“I tried logging on at the scheduled time and I couldn’t get on so I was charged.”
“However, since my insurance pays 100% for Dr on Demand, I never received a bill. That is until 6 months later when I got a collection notice for the second visit.”
“Logged in and it said 0 wait time. Filled out information and the next screen said less than 5 min. That screen lasted 32 minutes.”
Reviews are individual experiences and are not a promise of the same outcome. Pages read October 3, 2026 on Trustpilot, the App Store, Google Play, and BBB. The 80 Trustpilot reviews were published January to October 2026.
What Temi reviewers report
4.7 from 23 reviews on Trustpilot
Reviews of Temi, copied whole from Trustpilot
Every review below is a review of Temi. All 23 reviews on Temi's profile are here, all five stars, each copied word for word.
Reviews are copied from Trustpilot word for word and are never edited. Some name prices from the date they were written, which may not be Temi's price today.
Reviews are individual experiences and are not a promise of the same outcome. Temi's score and reviews were read October 7, 2026 on Temi's Trustpilot page. Every review Temi has, on one page: Temi reviews.
Final verdict: Temi vs Doctor On Demand
Choose Temi for price certainty on a refill: one flat $15 fee per medication, the same with or without insurance, that you see before you pay, as one charge from Temi per request, with no video visit and nothing billed to your insurance.
Choose Doctor On Demand if your health plan or employer covers it, or for a live video visit on demand at any hour, urgent care, therapy, psychiatry, or a child's visit, per their site.
What Temi will not do
No controlled substances. That includes stimulants, opioids, and benzodiazepines.
No isotretinoin. Accutane and its generics dispense only through a federal program with monthly in-person steps.
No patients under 18, and no care that needs a physical exam.
No emergency care. If you have chest pain, trouble breathing, or another emergency, call 911 or go to the nearest emergency room.
Temi reviews refills for patients located in Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Michigan, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Wisconsin. More on how a $15 refill works.
FAQ
Questions about Temi vs Doctor On Demand
What is the difference between Temi and Doctor On Demand?
Temi charges one flat $15 fee per medication, the same with or without insurance and shown before you pay, as one charge per request. There is no video visit and no insurance billing. A licensed physician reviews the request and sends the prescription to the pharmacy you choose.
Doctor On Demand is a live video telehealth service, now part of Included Health, where a prescription follows a video visit with a clinician, per their site. Without insurance an urgent care visit is $99, and with insurance or employer coverage a visit can be as low as $0, per their site.
How much does Temi cost?
One flat fee: $15 per medication, the same with or without insurance and shown before you pay, with no membership needed. A medication you have not taken before is $79 through the New Prescription service. Your pharmacy bills you for the medication, and you can use insurance or a discount card there.
How much does Doctor On Demand cost?
Without insurance, an urgent care video visit is $99 for a 15-minute consultation, per their site. There is no membership: “This is not a subscription or membership program.” With insurance or employer coverage, their site says “Your telehealth visit may be as low as $0”. With insurance, their site says: “Your estimated cost might change as we learn more details about your coverage, such as your specific benefits, or whether you’ve met your deductible. Register or log in to see your actual cost.” A visit extended past 15 minutes is billed as an additional visit at the same rate, per their site.
When do you see the price of a Doctor On Demand visit?
Their site says: “Doctor On Demand is not a membership. You will always see your cost upfront before you take your visit and won’t receive a surprise bill after your visit.” With insurance, their site says: “Your estimated cost might change as we learn more details about your coverage, such as your specific benefits, or whether you’ve met your deductible. Register or log in to see your actual cost.” For a scheduled appointment, their terms describe “a missed appointment fee equal to all or a portion of the fees you and your insurer or other payor would have paid for the scheduled services if you do not cancel a scheduled appointment at least 24 hours in advance”.
Will Temi charge me again after I pay?
No surprise bills. Each request is one charge from Temi: the $15 you saw before you paid. Temi has no scheduled visit and so no missed-appointment fee, needs no membership, and never bills insurance, so no bill from Temi arrives later. Your pharmacy bills you for the medication, and another medication or a later renewal is a new request with its own fee, shown before you pay.
Does Temi bill my insurance?
No. Temi's fee is cash-pay and Temi never bills insurance, so the fee is the same with or without insurance. The prescription goes to the pharmacy you choose, and you can use your insurance or a discount card there to pay for the medication.
Does Doctor On Demand take insurance?
Yes. Their site says “Doctor On Demand is a covered benefit for over 98 million Americans by their health plan or employer.” It also says “Doctor On Demand is available to everyone, which means you do not need any insurance to take a medical or mental health virtual visit.” Virtual primary care is only for members covered by select health plans and employers, per their site.
Can I get a prescription refill from Doctor On Demand?
Their site says: “Our board-certified doctors may be able to prescribe and refill your prescription(s) after an initial online consultation.” Prescriptions “do require a video consultation”, per their site. Patients already seen by their psychiatrists or primary care clinicians can request a refill by message, and other patients schedule a visit, per their site. Controlled substances are not prescribed, per their site.
Is Temi a Doctor On Demand alternative?
Yes, for a refill or a new prescription of a non-controlled medication. For a refill, you submit a request with no video visit, a licensed physician reviews it within 48 hours, often sooner, and the prescription goes to the pharmacy you choose, for one flat $15 per medication. A new prescription is $79 through the New Prescription service. Temi does not offer urgent care, therapy, psychiatry, or video visits, does not bill insurance, and does not treat patients under 18. If your health plan or employer covers Doctor On Demand, a covered visit there can cost less than Temi's fee.
What if the physician says no?
The $15 pays for the physician's review, whatever the decision. A decision you did not want is not by itself a refund. If you are not satisfied with Temi's clinical service, tell the team why, and the Temi Satisfaction Guarantee refunds the review fee.
Can I keep my own pharmacy?
Yes. You name the pharmacy and the prescription goes there. Temi does not dispense or ship medication, so the pharmacy you already use, around the corner or by mail, stays your pharmacy.
Do I pay Temi again for every refill?
Not for every pickup. Each $15 request buys one physician review. If the physician approves, they decide the supply and how many pharmacy refills to put on it. Collecting a refill your pharmacy already holds costs nothing at Temi. When the prescription runs out, you submit a new $15 request.
How fast is the review?
A licensed physician reviews your request within 48 hours, often sooner. Timing depends on what the physician needs from you, so it is not a guaranteed turnaround.
Can Temi prescribe something new?
Yes. Temi's New Prescription service reviews a medication you have not taken before, for $79, or $0 with Temi Care.
What medications qualify?
Non-controlled maintenance medications. That covers blood pressure, cholesterol, thyroid, diabetes, acid reflux, asthma, antidepressants, birth control, and other routine prescriptions. Controlled substances and isotretinoin are refused at intake, before you pay anything.
Is there a membership, and do I need it?
No, you do not need one. The $15 on this page is the price without any membership. Temi Care is $449 a year and includes unlimited $0 prescription renewals for eligible non-controlled medications and a $0 New Prescription service. Your pharmacy still bills you for the medication either way.
What is the Temi Satisfaction Guarantee?
Tell the team you are not satisfied with Temi's clinical service and why, and the review fee is refunded. A decision you did not want is not by itself a refund, because the fee pays for the physician's review either way. Money Temi collected for something it did not deliver is always refunded.
Which states does Temi cover?
Temi reviews refills for patients physically located in Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Michigan, Missouri, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Wisconsin. What matters is the state you are in when you submit the request, not where you used to see a doctor.
More from Temi
Prescription refills
How a $15 refill works, from the request to the pharmacy.
New Prescription service
A medication you have not taken before, reviewed for $79.
Temi vs Doctor On Demand comparison
Temi and Doctor On Demand, side by side.
All Temi comparisons
Every service and medication comparison Temi publishes, in one place.